Click to Return to Ferrum.edu Click for the Current Student Link Page Click for the Faculty/Staff Link Page Click for the Alumni Link Page Click for the Prospective Student Link Page


FACULTY


J
ohn Bruton
Professor of English
Ph.D., University of Arkansas
(540) 365-4321
jbruton@ferrum.edu

John Carey
Instructor of English
M.A., Marshall University
(540) 365-4356
jcarey@ferrum.edu

Peter Crow
Professor of English
Ph.D., Duke University
(540) 365-4320
pcrow@ferrum.edu

Karen Duddy
Instructor of English &
Coordinator of the Writing Center
M.A., Rutgers University
(540) 365-4350
kduddy@ferrum.edu

M.Katherine Grimes
Associate Professor of English
Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Greensboro
(540) 365-4264
kgrimes@ferrum.edu

Tina Hanlon
(on sabbatical)
Associate Professor of English
Ph.D., Ohio State University
(540) 365-4327
thanlon@ferrum.edu

Beth Harper
Instructor of English
M.A., Hollins University
(540) 365-4384
bharper@ferrum.edu

Marcia Horn
Professor of English
Ph.D., SUNY at Stony Brook
(540) 365-4328
mhorn@ferrum.edu

John Kitterman
Associate Professor of English
Ph.D., University of Virginia
(540) 365-4326
jkitterman@ferrum.edu

Lana Whited
Professor of English & Journalism
and Director of the Boone Honors Program
Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Greensboro
(540) 365-4334
lwhited@ferrum.edu

 

 

 


 

 

 

 




Program Coordinator: Katherine Grimes
Phone Number: (540) 365-4264
e-mail: kgrimes@ferrum.edu


The English major at Ferrum includes study in both literature and communication and is designed to allow students considerable flexibility in selecting courses to meet individual interests and needs. Requirements promote understanding of the expressive capacities of language and appreciation for the psychological, cultural, and historical insights of literature. Students learn how to think critically and to communicate effectively in a variety of contexts. In addition to the English major, the English department offers an English minor and a minor in journalism. Graduates of the various programs offered by the English Department find careers in a wide range of fields, including teaching, business, industry, public relations, journalism, technical writing, and other kinds of communication.

An English major also provides excellent preparation for graduate school in a number of fields such as law, religion, education and area studies. Students majoring in English may elect to take a group of additional courses--the Professional Communication Option--designed to enhance career opportunities in management, public relations, business, law, and many other professions.

Required Courses:
Students select 36 hours from the courses listed below. Students must select at least nine hours from each of the listed categories, and only nine hours of the 36 total can be at the 200-level.
 
Category I.
ENG 201 World Literature I
ENG 203 British Literature I
ENG 205 American Literature I
ENG 323 Novel I
ENG 345 American Literature, 1815-1865
ENG 361 British Literature, 1660-1798
ENG 365 Shakespeare
ENG 421 Medieval Literature
ENG 425 Seminar: Selected Authors
 
Category II.
ENG 202 World Literature II
ENG 204 British Literature II
ENG 206 American Literature II
ENG 221 Introduction to Film
ENG 324 Novel II
ENG 328 Seminar: Selected Literary Topics
ENG 346 American Literature, 1865-1940
ENG 362 British Literature, 1798-1890
ENG 401 Literary Criticism
ENG 428 Contemporary Literature and Film
 
Category III.
ENG 311 Reporting and Editing
ENG 312 Feature Writing and Production
ENG 318 Creative Writing
ENG 336 Linguistics
ENG 338 Rhetoric
ENG 433 Small-Group Communication
ENG 461 Professional Writing



Click to Return To Ferrum.edu